Rock Band downloads of the week (04/05/2012)

It’s been a pretty busy, yet quiet week in the world of gaming, but what continues to stay consistent is the latest songs coming to the Rock Band and Rock Band Network stores. We also have a special surprise after we go through the downloads, what could it be? Stick around to find out.

First up, an early announcement came forth earlier this week, specifying that California 80s thrash metal band, Slayer, would be raining blood in this week’s DLC. So Slayer fans, rejoice because the Angel of Death has returned with three new songs for you to lick your bloody lips to, each available for 160 microsoft points separately.

  • Slayer – “Raining Blood”
  • Slayer – “South of Heaven”
  • Slayer – “Seasons in the Abyss”

Now if you’re not tough enough for the thrash, the Rock Band Network has some songs that are a little lighter, but you can still rock out to, without feeling too embarrassed.


  • Magnefora – “Toccata and Fugue in D Minor (Bach)” (80 MSP)

Classic Rock

  • The Buffalo Joe Band – “Our Time” (80 MSP)


  • The Mercy House – “Greed” (80 MSP)


  • Anarchy Club – “A Bullet in the Head” (160 MSP)


  • Aiden – “Broken Bones” (160 MSP)
  • Close Your Eyes – “Valleys” (160 MSP)
  • Single White Infidel – “What’s Left of the Right Brain?” (80 MSP)


  • Seven Day Sonnet – “Hapless” (160 MSP)
  • The Bitter Roots – “Me and You” (160 MSP)

Now then, how about that special announcement I mentioned earlier? Well good to see that you’re still around.

Earlier this week, it was announced that a new downloadable Rock Band title is being released on the Xbox Live Arcade and PlayStation Network, at the latest Summer 2012.

Rock Band Blitz escapes from picking up the peripherals to play, and requires you to utilize all four or five instruments for each song. This game is being raved as a new way to experience playing your favorite Rock Band tracks.

Complete with powerups like the “Bottle Rocket”, to explode distant gems, or the “Flame Notes” for additional bonus points, RB Blitz is looking to put the competitive edge back into gamers’ hands as you compete with friends to old songs that can be carried over from songs available in your downloads, and an addition of 20 new songs to the game. But if you still feel the need to use the peripherals you spent all your hard earned allowance on, the drums, microphone, keyboard and guitar are still compatible with the game.

For more information on the upcoming Rock Band Blitz DLC game, check out Harmonix’s blog.

An early screenshot from the upcoming title, Rock Band Blitz.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s