Silent Hill Downpour Easter Egg pays homage to a classic title in the franchise

Now I thought this was really, really cool.

I stumbled across this Easter Egg not through searching Youtube, but actually through comments on a Facebook link from the site, Rely on Horror. Now I contribute writing to the site, and our sitemaster Dominik wrote up a really great article about why Downpour is a true survivor horror game. In the comments on the link provided on Facebook, one of the people who commented had mentioned revisiting Henry’s room from Silent Hill 4, and as intrigued as I was, I went straight to Youtube to take a look. And here’s what I found.

Now for those who haven’t played Silent Hill 4:The Room, it was a very controversial title on the PlayStation 2 which was released in 2004. It was the first Silent Hill game to leave the ficitional town and star the main character, Henry Townshend, in a little city called Ashfield, a few miles away from Silent Hill. Henry begins having recurring dreams, and eventually is unable to leave his room as it is chained from the inside. Henry finds a hole in his bathroom wall that allows him access to the Otherworld, which brings him to certain locations throughout Silent Hill and Ashfield that are inhabited by monsters. Throughout the journey, Henry begins to unravel the mystery of the previous owners of his apartment, a mother and her son, Walter Sullivan, who grew up to become a well-known serial killer whose ghost still haunts Room 302, aka Henry’s apartment.

Murphy, the game's protagonist, stumbles upon The Room, from Silent Hill 4, which is still chained up.

Definitely a game worth checking out, but I will actually go into more detail about the game sometime in a future article. For now, enjoy the Easter Egg, even though Easter has already come and gone.

9 thoughts on “Silent Hill Downpour Easter Egg pays homage to a classic title in the franchise

  1. I simply wanted to say thanks all over again. I do not know the things that I might have sorted out in the absence of the entire tips and hints discussed by you on my theme. Previously it was a real daunting case in my opinion, however , finding out a skilled manner you handled that made me to jump over fulfillment. I am just happy for your guidance and even pray you really know what a great job you were undertaking instructing people today all through your blog post. Most probably you haven’t met all of us

  2. Another gender issue in movies is, in my opinion,
    though, the aging dreamer is miraculously signed as a bench warmer by
    the St.

  3. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.

    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Outstanding work!

    • Thank you! Nope, the design was all me. I worked off of one of the free WordPress designs and added and moved around specific widgets on the page.

  4. Its like you learn my thoughts! You appear to grasp
    so much about this, such as you wrote the book in it or something.
    I feel that you simply can do with a few % to pressure the message home a bit,
    however instead of that, this is magnificent blog. A great read.

    I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

